Voting Enters Final 48 Hours for Nelscott Reef Pro/Am’s Alternate Selection

LINCOLN CITY, Oregon, October 20th, 2017, 10 Barrel Brewing’s Nelscott Reef Pro/Am’s public voting selection process for alternate slots enters the final 48 hours.  Traffic to the Nelscott Pro/Am’s website has skyrocketed as votes add up for the athletes.

Last week, organizers announced that they would seek public input to determine the alternates for this year’s event.  Voting went live on the event web page on Sunday morning and within hours, it was clear that this was going to be a competitive process.

We had over 15,000 visitors to the site on the first day, with some of the athletes passing the 1000 vote mark.  We encouraged everyone to use their social media reach, sponsors, friends and family, and we are all really impressed with the response.” said Event Director, Adam Wagner.

Organizers set the holding period for 7 days, starting at 12:01AM on October 15th.  They wanted to make sure there was enough time for people to reach their fanbase and gain traction.

With just under 48 hours left in the voting period, over 36,000 votes have been cast for the 54 surfers wanting to earn a spot on the list.   

As of this morning, the top three are

Vinicius Dos Santos (4729 votes)

Mason Barnes (3101 votes)

Jake Fishman (2668 votes)

There is still a lot of time left, and organizers are expecting a strong push to the finish line.

“The reach has been unbelievable.  We have averaged over 16K views a day and have visitors from over 144 countries, said event organizer Gabe Smith.  “This is great exposure for our sponsors and our athletes.”

Votes are cast through the event website,, and will be open until Midnight on October 21st.  There will be 15 alternate slots that will go to the most liked athletes on the website.  Ranking will align with the total number of votes.

For the latest information on the event, where to stay, etc., visit the event page at

Adam Wagner


Cover Photo:  Mathew Marino /Featured Surfer: Jamie Sterling

We are thankful to each of our sponsors, as they make this event possible. This years sponsors include;